The Secret World of Weather, by Tristan Gooley

I wish I would have read this before I read The Nature Instinct. The topic of this book was focused, crystallized around a few central principles that take various forms in various settings. I almost feel like I get it. I certainly get it more than I did. To truly get all of this, I feel like I need to wander around with this book for about a week, constantly referring to the pages and the clouds. Or maybe do a lesson with Gooley someday. But I definitely feel like weather is more manageable to track after reading this book.

Heat, moisture, and movement are the keys in weather. From cloud formation to dews, these are the ingredients at play, just playing different games. Because it can be boiled down that simply, it becomes possible to see, especially, why the weather that just happened, happened. From there, it becomes possible to see what can be “coming up next.”

Excellently written. Conversational style addressed fairly complex scientific ideas in a way that makes the reader feel comfortable, not condescended to. Lots of repetition of ideas as the author examines different applications of scenarios provide the opportunity to “see” the patterns at work.


Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started