Et In Sempiternum Pereant, by Charles Williams

Photo by Simon Sikorski on Pexels.com

This would be great for a book club, where the meeting of many minds might untangle the depths of the meaning.

I’m not going to lie. I didn’t really get this short story. I’m pretty sure it’s saying something about death. The way the character is heading toward his destination with surety but not with haste, the way he contemplates his awareness of his own mortality, the presentation of an upwards staircase and a basement leading to a void all create this much of a frame. Knowing that the title translates to “And May They Perish Forever” adds another layer. But if I was pressed to tell you what the “point” of the story is (or even who the “they” is), I would struggle. Is it the universal struggle against the inevitability of death? Is it our morbid curiosity about death? I will definitely have to let this digest, then revisit it to (try to) wrap my mind around it.

The imagery was really powerful–the plume of fiery smoke coming out of the chimney echoing back to the days of Israel’s wanderings in the wilderness; the utter emptiness and loneliness in the cottage (death must be faced alone?); the juxtaposition of the sunny day with the chilly, dank interior of the house; whatever creepy creatures were flying in and out of the door when the character fled.

But this is why I like Charles Williams. He makes you come back for more.


Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started